Tuesday, July 28, 2009

More on the AAAI Presidential Panel on Long-Term AI Futures

The attendees of the February Asilomar workshop and a description of their goals is available here.
The co-chairs were Eric Horvitz and Bart Selman. The panel included: Margaret Boden, Craig Boutilier, Greg Cooper, Tom Dean, Tom Dietterich, Oren Etzioni, Barbara Grosz, Eric Horvitz, Toru Ishida, Sarit Kraus, Alan Mackworth, David McAllester, Sheila McIlraith, Tom Mitchell, Andrew Ng, David Parkes, Edwina Rissland, Bart Selman, Diana Spears, Peter Stone, Milind Tambe, Sebastian Thrun, Manuela Veloso, David Waltz, Michael Wellman.

There were three focus groups:
Pace, Concerns, Control, Guidelines -- Chair: David McAllester
Potentially Disruptive Advances: Nature and timing -- Chair: Milind Tambe
Ethical and Legal Challenges -- Chair: David Waltz

While some of the scientists in attendance have commented on societal challenges posed by advances in AI in the past, interestingly no members of the machine ethics community were at this event.

1 comment:

Unknown said...

More information on the AAAI study and a report can be viewed at: